Prepare To Transition to ICD-10 With DSM 5

The New Deadline Is October 2015—Don’t Delay!

The Fifth Edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), developed by the American Psychiatric Association and released in May 2013, is the compendium of mental disorder criteria and diagnostic codes used by clinicians in the U.S. health care system. Clinicians need to understand and appropriately use DSM-5 codes to avoid barriers to or delays in treatment. This knowledge is critical, as International Classification of Diseases (ICD), 10th Edition, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM) codes are reported to insurance companies for the purposes of providing reimbursement for clinical services.

Check out SAMHSA’s resources on ICD-10 for more information on:

  • DSM-5’s approach to diagnostic coding
  • How to better understand the coding changes in DSM-5
  • How DSM-5’s approach is similar to and differs from that in DSM IV TR
  • The rationale behind the revisions
  • Specific clinical implications

Review the ICD-10 Fact Sheet

View the ICD-10 Webinar: Transitioning to DSM-5 and ICD-10-CM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: